19.1 C
New York
Wednesday, June 16, 2021
Google search engine
HomecricketSchedule For India’s White-Ball Tour Of Sri Lanka Released

Schedule For India’s White-Ball Tour Of Sri Lanka Released

The second unit of the Indian team featuring the players who couldn’t make it on the tour of the England squad will play six white-ball games featuring three ODIs and three T20Is in the month of July against Sri Lanka in the island nation.

This low-key series might be missed amongst the excitement of the impending ICC World Test Championship (WTC) final between India and New Zealand to be played from June 18 onwards at the Rose Bowl in Southampton. India will then face England in a series of five-Tests.

India and Sri Lanka last played in 2018 (Photo-Getty)
India and Sri Lanka last played in 2018 (Photo-Getty)

This will be the first time two Indian teams will play international cricket simultaneously and it will be interesting to see who captains the Indian white-ball team for the Sri Lanka tour.

The White Ball Series Between India And Sri Lanka To Be Played From June 13-25

India has not played Sri Lanka in any format since 2018, when they had played in the Nidahas Tri-series T20 Trophy also featuring Bangladesh and which was won by India, who were led by Rohit Sharma. The schedule of the tour was announced on Monday by Sony Sports India.

India is set to tour Sri Lanka for a three-match ODI and T20I series in the Island nation, beginning 13th July with the first ODI. The remaining ODIs will be played on July 16 and 18, respectively, followed by the T20Is on July 21, 23, and 25.

India and Sri Lanka last played in 2018 (Photo-AP)
India and Sri Lanka last played in 2018 (Photo-AP)

Sri Lanka will travel to England before the India series for a white-ball tour as well, but the entire thing is still up in the air as more than 30 players have refused to sign the new contracts offered by Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC), which sees substantial pay cuts for senior players and demotion in the pay grade of many other players.

On the other hand, India will be sending the likes of Shikhar Dhawan, Hardik Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shreyas Iyer (if fit), Prithvi Shaw, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Sanju Samson, Krunal Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Rahul Chahar and many more, who will see this series as a chance to stake a claim for a place in the T20 World Cup 2021 slated to be played in UAE, hosted by BCCI.

Also Read: Dom Bess Added To England Squad For 2nd New Zealand Test; Ollie Robinson Sent Back To Sussex After Suspension 

Source link


Leave a Reply

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments

%d bloggers like this: